Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#19
Masahiro Tanaka
ERA W-L K
4.45 11-9 149
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-3 / 218
Position: SPBorn: 11/1/1988 Birthplace: Itami, Japan
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Signed via MLB-Japan


Latest News
Oct. 18 9:34 PM PT10:34 PM MT11:34 PM CT12:34 AM ET0:34 ET4:34 GMT12:34 9:34 PM MST11:34 PM EST10:34 PM CST12:04 AM VEN8:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka fell to 1-1, allowing four runs - three earned - on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 8-3 on Thursday. Tanaka struck out one, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 0.73 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 12 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST9:26 PM CST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 1-0, allowing one hit and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Houston Astros 7-0 on Saturday. Tanaka struck out four, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.33 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 5 5:46 PM PT6:46 PM MT7:46 PM CT8:46 PM ET20:46 ET0:46 GMT8:46 5:46 PM MST7:46 PM EST6:46 PM CST8:16 PM VEN4:46 UAE (+1)7:46 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 1-0, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Minnesota Twins 8-2 on Saturday. Tanaka struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 29 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST4:02 PM CST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka fell to 11-9, allowing two runs - one earned - on five hits and one walk in 3.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Texas Rangers 6-1 on Sunday. Tanaka struck out two, ending the game with a 4.45 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 6:21 PM PT7:21 PM MT8:21 PM CT9:21 PM ET21:21 ET1:21 GMT9:21 6:21 PM MST8:21 PM EST7:21 PM CST8:51 PM VEN5:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 11-8, allowing one run on four hits in 7.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Los Angeles Angels 9-1 on Thursday. Tanaka struck out six, ending the game with a 4.47 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 13 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed four runs on eight hits in 5.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-5 on Friday. Tanaka struck out six, ending the game with a 4.60 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 9:03 PM PT10:03 PM MT11:03 PM CT12:03 AM ET0:03 ET4:03 GMT12:03 9:03 PM MST11:03 PM EST10:03 PM CST11:33 PM VEN8:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed four runs on eight hits in 4.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 10-5 on Sunday. Tanaka struck out two, ending the game with a 4.53 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 4:05 PM PT5:05 PM MT6:05 PM CT7:05 PM ET19:05 ET23:05 GMT7:05 4:05 PM MST6:05 PM EST5:05 PM CST6:35 PM VEN3:05 UAE (+1)6:05 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka fell to 10-8, allowing two runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Texas Rangers 7-0 on Monday. Tanaka struck out five, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST11:13 PM CST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 10-7, allowing three hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Seattle Mariners 7-0 on Tuesday. Tanaka struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.47 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 9:36 PM PT10:36 PM MT11:36 PM CT12:36 AM ET0:36 ET4:36 GMT12:36 9:36 PM MST11:36 PM EST10:36 PM CST12:06 AM VEN8:36 UAE11:36 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka fell to 9-7, allowing five runs on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Oakland Athletics 5-3 on Thursday. Tanaka struck out five, ending the game with a 4.68 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 9-6, allowing two runs on four hits in 6.1 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Cleveland Indians 3-2 on Friday. Tanaka struck out two, ending the game with a 4.56 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 12:54 PM PT1:54 PM MT2:54 PM CT3:54 PM ET15:54 ET19:54 GMT3:54 12:54 PM MST2:54 PM EST1:54 PM CST3:24 PM VEN23:54 UAE2:54 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 8-6, allowing three hits over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 1-0 on Sunday. Tanaka struck out four, ending the game with a 4.64 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 7:25 PM PT8:25 PM MT9:25 PM CT10:25 PM ET22:25 ET2:25 GMT10:25 7:25 PM MST9:25 PM EST8:25 PM CST9:55 PM VEN6:25 UAE (+1)9:25 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed five runs on 10 hits and two walks in 5.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 9-6 on Monday. Tanaka struck out four, ending the game with a 4.93 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
July 31 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST3:31 PM CST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed two runs on five hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-5 on Wednesday. Tanaka struck out four, ending the game with a 4.78 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
July 25 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST8:41 PM CST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka fell to 7-6, allowing 12 runs on 12 hits and three walks in 3.1 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 19-3 on Thursday. Tanaka struck out four, ending the game with a 4.79 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
July 20 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST2:48 PM CST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)3:48 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 7-5, allowing five runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Colorado Rockies 11-5 on Saturday. Tanaka struck out three, ending the game with a 4.00 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
July 14 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST2:04 PM CST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 6-5, allowing two runs on four hits in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 4-2 on Sunday. Tanaka struck out five, ending the game with a 3.81 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 9 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 1-0, allowing one hit over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the AL All-Stars defeated the NL All-Stars 4-3 on Tuesday. Tanaka struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
July 5 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST9:00 PM CST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)10:00 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed four runs on six hits and two walks in 6.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 8-4 on Friday. Tanaka struck out five, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 29 2:57 PM PT3:57 PM MT4:57 PM CT5:57 PM ET17:57 ET21:57 GMT5:57 2:57 PM MST4:57 PM EST3:57 PM CST5:27 PM VEN1:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed six runs on four hits and two walks in 0.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 17-13 on Saturday. Tanaka did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.74 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 22 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed two runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Houston Astros 7-5 on Saturday. Tanaka struck out one, ending the game with a 3.21 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
June 17 6:47 PM PT7:47 PM MT8:47 PM CT9:47 PM ET21:47 ET1:47 GMT9:47 6:47 PM MST8:47 PM EST7:47 PM CST9:17 PM VEN5:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 5-5, allowing two hits and one walk in a complete-game shutout, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 3-0 on Monday. Tanaka struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.23 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
June 11 1:29 PM PT2:29 PM MT3:29 PM CT4:29 PM ET16:29 ET20:29 GMT4:29 1:29 PM MST3:29 PM EST2:29 PM CST3:59 PM VEN0:29 UAE (+1)3:29 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 4-5, allowing five runs - four earned - on seven hits in 6.2 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the New York Mets 12-5 on Tuesday. Tanaka struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.58 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 7 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-The Yankees placed Tanaka on the paternity leave list. But it will be a short stay, with his next start on Monday against the Mets.
Analysis: Tanaka was scheduled to start against the Cleveland Indians on Sunday, but returned to New York for the birth of his baby girl on Friday. Manager Aaron Boone said Tanaka threw a bullpen session at Yankee Stadium on Saturday and will start Monday. He's 3-5 with a 3.42 ERA in 13 starts.
June 4 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka fell to 3-5, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-3 on Tuesday. Tanaka struck out two, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 28 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka fell to 3-4, allowing five runs - four earned - on nine hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the San Diego Padres 5-4 on Tuesday. Tanaka struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.20 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
May 23 12:43 PM PT1:43 PM MT2:43 PM CT3:43 PM ET15:43 ET19:43 GMT3:43 12:43 PM MST2:43 PM EST1:43 PM CST3:13 PM VEN23:43 UAE2:43 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed one run on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-5 on Thursday. Tanaka struck out five, ending the game with a 2.94 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
May 19 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST3:43 PM CST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Yankees manager Aaron Boone said Sunday that Tanaka was still dealing with some soreness one day after being hit in the right shin by a ground ball. He added that the team has yet to determine whether the right-hander will make his next scheduled start.
Analysis: Tanaka is next slated to pitch Thursday afternoon in Baltimore, which leaves those in weekly leagues in a bit of a dilemma. Keep in mind the Yankees have been very cautious with injured players throughout this season.
May 18 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST2:52 PM CST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed three hits without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 2-1 on Saturday. Tanaka struck out six, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tanaka had a ball ricochet off his right shin. The Yankees said X-rays of Tanaka's shin were negative. It's uncertain whether this will hamper him moving forward.
May 12 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST2:52 PM CST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 3-3, allowing one run on five hits in 7.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 7-1 on Sunday. Tanaka struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.44 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 7 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 6.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-4 on Tuesday. Tanaka struck out four, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
May 1 3:55 PM PT4:55 PM MT5:55 PM CT6:55 PM ET18:55 ET22:55 GMT6:55 3:55 PM MST5:55 PM EST4:55 PM CST6:25 PM VEN2:55 UAE (+1)5:55 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka fell to 2-3, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2 on Wednesday. Tanaka struck out six, ending the game with a 3.92 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 9:59 PM PT10:59 PM MT11:59 PM CT12:59 AM ET0:59 ET4:59 GMT12:59 9:59 PM MST11:59 PM EST10:59 PM CST12:29 AM VEN8:59 UAE11:59 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka fell to 2-2, allowing six runs - five earned - on six hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Los Angeles Angels 11-5 on Thursday. Tanaka struck out two, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST2:12 PM CST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 2-1, allowing one run on four hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Kansas City Royals 9-2 on Saturday. Tanaka struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.76 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST2:35 PM CST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)3:35 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka fell to 1-1, allowing five runs on seven hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-2 on Sunday. Tanaka struck out six, ending the game with a 3.22 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 4-3 on Monday. Tanaka struck out three, ending the game with a 1.47 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 6:22 PM PT7:22 PM MT8:22 PM CT9:22 PM ET21:22 ET1:22 GMT9:22 6:22 PM MST8:22 PM EST7:22 PM CST8:52 PM VEN5:22 UAE (+1)8:22 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka allowed one run on eight hits in 6.2 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Detroit Tigers 3-1 on Tuesday. Tanaka struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.46 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 28 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST2:22 PM CST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)2:22 PM CT-Masahiro Tanaka improved to 1-0, allowing two runs - one earned - on six hits in 5.2 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-2 on Thursday. Tanaka struck out five, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 NYY 13 5 0 - 0 20 20 3 136.1 123 47 42 15 21 0 141 1.06 2.77
2015 NYY 12 7 0 - 0 24 24 1 154.0 126 66 60 25 27 0 139 0.99 3.51
2016 NYY 14 4 0 - 0 31 31 0 199.2 179 75 68 22 36 0 165 1.08 3.07
2017 NYY 13 12 0 - 0 30 30 1 178.1 180 100 94 35 41 1 194 1.24 4.74
2018 NYY 12 6 0 - 0 27 27 1 156.0 141 68 65 25 35 0 159 1.13 3.75
2019 NYY 11 9 0 - 0 32 31 1 182.0 186 95 90 28 40 0 149 1.24 4.45
Career 75 43 0 - 0 164 163 7 1006.1 935 451 419 150 200 1 947 1.13 3.75

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 NYY 20 9 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .111 .111 .111
2015 NYY 24 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .125 .000
2016 NYY 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 NYY 30 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 NYY 27 6 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 NYY 32 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 164 27 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 12 0 0 .037 .071 .037

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 NYY Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 2 2 2 3 0 3 3.60
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 2 2 2 3 0 3 3.60
2017 NYY Total 2 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 20.0 10 2 2 0 3 0 18 0.90
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 3 0 0 0 1 0 7 0.00
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 7 2 2 0 2 0 11 1.38
2018 NYY Total 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 3 1 1 1 1 0 4 1.80
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 3 1 1 1 1 0 4 1.80
2019 NYY Total 2 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 16.0 8 5 4 1 4 0 12 2.25
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 3 1 1 0 1 0 7 1.80
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.0 5 4 3 1 3 0 5 2.45
Career 5 3 0 - 0 8 8 0 46.0 25 10 9 4 11 0 37 1.76


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 857 96 87 91.5 30.75
Curveball 89 80 71 76.1 3.19
Slider 1012 88 79 83.3 36.31
Changeup 37 86 82 84.4 1.33
Split-Finger 749 91 82 87.1 26.87
Cut Fastball 43 90 85 87.8 1.54

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.