Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#55
Jon Gray
ERA W-L K
3.84 11-8 150
Team: ColoradoHt / Wt: 6-4 / 227
Position: SPBorn: 11/5/1991 Birthplace: Shawnee, Oklahoma
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Rockies (2013)


Latest News
Aug. 21 10:11 AM PT11:11 AM MT12:11 PM CT1:11 PM ET13:11 ET17:11 GMT1:11 10:11 AM MST12:11 PM EST11:11 AM CST12:41 PM VEN21:11 UAE12:11 PM CT-Gray has been scratched from Wednesday's scheduled start against the Diamondbacks and has been placed on the 60-day injured list with a fractured left foot.
Analysis: This news obviously comes out of nowhere, and Gray seemingly had no issues when he threw eight scoreless innings to beat the Marlins five days ago. He'll finish with very respectable numbers - an 11-8 record, 3.84 ERA and 150 strikeouts in 150 innings. Tim Melville will start in Gray's place Wednesday.
Aug. 16 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST9:17 PM CST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 11-8, allowing five hits over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Colorado Rockies defeated the Miami Marlins 3-0 on Friday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.84 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST2:48 PM CST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)3:48 PM CT-Gray has been scratched from Tuesday's start against the Diamondbacks due to a sore left ankle. Jeff Hoffman will start in his place.
Analysis: Gray, who is 10-8 with a 4.06 ERA in 25 appearances, will likely be able to return soon.
Aug. 3 8:59 PM PT9:59 PM MT10:59 PM CT11:59 PM ET23:59 ET3:59 GMT11:59 8:59 PM MST10:59 PM EST9:59 PM CST11:29 PM VEN7:59 UAE (+1)10:59 PM CT-Jon Gray allowed four runs on nine hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Colorado Rockies lost to the San Francisco Giants 6-5 on Saturday. Gray struck out five, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
July 29 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 10-7, allowing one run on three hits and three walks in 8.0 innings, as the Colorado Rockies defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-1 on Monday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 3.88 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
July 24 12:30 PM PT1:30 PM MT2:30 PM CT3:30 PM ET15:30 ET19:30 GMT3:30 12:30 PM MST2:30 PM EST1:30 PM CST3:00 PM VEN23:30 UAE2:30 PM CT-Gray has been pulled from a game after four innings with a left calf injury. The right-hander started the opener of a doubleheader Wednesday against the Washington Nationals. He walked five and allowed a run before leaving to be evaluated.
Analysis: Gray allowed a bases-loaded walk to Gerardo Parra in the fourth. He also allowed two hits and struck out four in his shortest start of the season. He threw 76 pitches. Gray, who is 9-7 with a 4.05 ERA in 22 games this season, entered Wednesday 0-2 with a 5.71 ERA in his first three July starts after posting a 1.45 ERA in winning his final three June outings.
July 17 3:45 PM PT4:45 PM MT5:45 PM CT6:45 PM ET18:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST4:45 PM CST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)5:45 PM CT-Jon Gray fell to 9-7, allowing six runs on 11 hits and three walks in 5.1 innings, as the Colorado Rockies lost to the San Francisco Giants 11-8 on Wednesday. Gray struck out three, ending the game with a 4.11 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
July 12 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST9:23 PM CST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Jon Gray allowed two runs on four hits in 7.0 innings as the Colorado Rockies defeated the Cincinnati Reds 3-2 on Friday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 3.83 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
July 7 10:25 PM PT11:25 PM MT12:25 AM CT1:25 AM ET1:25 ET5:25 GMT13:25 10:25 PM MST12:25 AM EST11:25 PM CST12:55 AM VEN9:25 UAE12:25 AM CT-Jon Gray fell to 9-6, allowing three runs on eight hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Colorado Rockies lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-2 on Saturday. Gray struck out four, ending the game with a 3.92 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 29 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST9:03 PM CST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 9-5, allowing three runs - two earned - on seven hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Colorado Rockies defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-3 on Saturday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.84 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 25 9:56 PM PT10:56 PM MT11:56 PM CT12:56 AM ET0:56 ET4:56 GMT12:56 9:56 PM MST11:56 PM EST10:56 PM CST12:26 AM VEN8:56 UAE11:56 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 8-5, allowing four hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Colorado Rockies defeated the San Francisco Giants 2-0 on Monday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 3.92 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 20 9:38 PM PT10:38 PM MT11:38 PM CT12:38 AM ET0:38 ET4:38 GMT12:38 9:38 PM MST11:38 PM EST10:38 PM CST12:08 AM VEN8:38 UAE11:38 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 7-5, allowing two runs - one earned - on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Colorado Rockies defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-4 on Wednesday. Gray struck out four, ending the game with a 4.18 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
June 16 4:51 PM PT5:51 PM MT6:51 PM CT7:51 PM ET19:51 ET23:51 GMT7:51 4:51 PM MST6:51 PM EST5:51 PM CST7:21 PM VEN3:51 UAE (+1)6:51 PM CT-Jon Gray walked three and didn't allow a hit in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Colorado Rockies lost to the San Diego Padres 14-13 on Sunday. Gray did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.38 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 14 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST10:12 PM CST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 6-5, allowing four runs on nine hits in 6.0 innings, as the Colorado Rockies defeated the San Diego Padres 9-6 on Thursday. Gray struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.39 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 8 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Jon Gray fell to 5-5, allowing four runs on eight hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Colorado Rockies lost to the New York Mets 5-3 on Saturday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.27 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
June 1 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST9:44 PM CST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)10:44 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 5-4, allowing two hits and three walks over 6.2 scoreless innings, as the Colorado Rockies defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 4-2 on Saturday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.11 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 27 4:40 PM PT5:40 PM MT6:40 PM CT7:40 PM ET19:40 ET23:40 GMT7:40 4:40 PM MST6:40 PM EST5:40 PM CST7:10 PM VEN3:40 UAE (+1)6:40 PM CT-Jon Gray allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 5.1 innings as the Colorado Rockies defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3 on Monday. Gray struck out two, ending the game with a 4.52 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Gray threw just 84 pitches before being removed for precautionary reasons, as he was beginning to develop a blister on one of his fingers. It's possible the right-hander could have his next start skipped or pushed back, depending on if the issue still lingers during his upcoming throw day.
May 22 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 4-4, allowing three runs on seven hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Colorado Rockies defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-3 on Wednesday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.62 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
May 17 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST8:30 PM CST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Jon Gray fell to 3-4, allowing five runs on five hits and three walks in 4.2 innings, as the Colorado Rockies lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4 on Friday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.73 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
May 11 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST9:21 PM CST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Jon Gray allowed three runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Colorado Rockies lost to the San Diego Padres 4-3 on Saturday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.25 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
May 2 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST2:38 PM CST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 3-3, allowing five runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Colorado Rockies defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 11-6 on Thursday. Gray struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.22 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Jon Gray allowed five runs on eight hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the Colorado Rockies defeated the Atlanta Braves 9-5 on Saturday. Gray struck out four, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST4:47 PM CST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 2-3, allowing one hit and four walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Colorado Rockies defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 4-1 on Sunday. Gray struck out five, ending the game with a 2.78 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 9:16 PM PT10:16 PM MT11:16 PM CT12:16 AM ET0:16 ET4:16 GMT12:16 9:16 PM MST11:16 PM EST10:16 PM CST11:46 PM VEN8:16 UAE11:16 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 1-3, allowing one run on three hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Colorado Rockies defeated the San Diego Padres 8-2 on Tuesday. Gray struck out five, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST9:37 PM CST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)10:37 PM CT-Jon Gray fell to 0-2, allowing five runs on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Colorado Rockies lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-2 on Saturday. Gray struck out four, ending the game with a 5.68 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 12:48 PM PT1:48 PM MT2:48 PM CT3:48 PM ET15:48 ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST2:48 PM EST1:48 PM CST3:18 PM VEN23:48 UAE2:48 PM CT-Jon Gray fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 6.2 innings, as the Colorado Rockies lost to the Miami Marlins 3-0 on Sunday. Gray struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.05 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Col 0 2 0 - 0 9 9 0 40.2 52 26 25 4 14 2 40 1.62 5.53
2016 Col 10 10 0 - 0 29 29 1 168.0 153 92 86 18 59 2 185 1.26 4.61
2017 Col 10 4 0 - 0 20 20 0 110.1 113 47 45 10 30 0 112 1.30 3.67
2018 Col 12 9 0 - 0 31 31 0 172.1 180 102 98 27 52 1 183 1.35 5.12
2019 Col 11 8 0 - 0 26 25 0 150.0 147 70 64 19 56 4 150 1.35 3.84
Career 43 33 0 - 0 115 114 1 641.1 645 337 318 78 211 9 670 1.33 4.46

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Col 9 11 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 6 0 0 .000 .154 .000
2016 Col 29 47 2 7 2 0 0 4 2 30 0 0 .149 .184 .191
2017 Col 20 38 3 3 0 0 1 3 1 27 0 0 .079 .103 .158
2018 Col 31 52 2 4 2 0 0 2 3 30 0 0 .077 .127 .115
2019 Col 27 47 1 3 0 0 0 1 3 22 0 0 .064 .120 .064
Career 116 195 9 17 4 0 1 10 11 115 0 0 .087 .136 .123

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2017 Col Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 2.2 14 8 8 2 0 0 4 27.00
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.1 7 4 4 1 0 0 2 27.00
Career 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.1 7 4 4 1 0 0 2 27.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1245 99 91 96 52.47
Curveball 262 83 73 78.6 11.04
Slider 796 92 84 88.1 33.54
Changeup 70 89 85 86.8 2.95

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.